2018 Media Releases

2017 Media Releases

2016 Media Releases

2015 Media Releases

2014 Media Releases

2013 Media Releases

2012 Media Releases

2011 Media Releases

2010 Media Releases

2009 Media Releases

2008 Media Releases

2015 Competition Media Releases

Ahuwhenua Trophy winner announced

2015 Winner

The winner of the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for sheep and beef is Mangaroa Station owned by Barton and Nukuhia Hadfield. The couple farm in the Ruakituri Valley, about an hour’s drive north west of Wairoa on the East Coast of the North Island.


Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer winner announcement

2015 Winner

Hannah Wallace from Wairoa was crowned the 2015 Young Māori Sheep and Beef Farmer of the Year at the Ahuwhenua Awards last night in Whanganui.


2015 Young Maori Farmer finalists announced

The 2015 Ahuwhenua Young Maori Farmer finalists have been announced. They are: Hannah Wallace, 22, Wairoa, Hawke’s Bay; Hemoata Kopa, 19, Porangahau, Hawke’s Bay; and Taane Hubbard, 19, Gladstone, Wairarapa. As well as the first female finalists’ since the competition started, this year’s contest revealed a passionate pool of talent with strong commitment to the sheep and beef sector.


Mangaroa Station Profile

2015 Finalist

In 2001 Bart and Nuku Hadfield pooled their resources along with Nuku's siblings Eugene, Ronald and Marama and their partners to lease Mangaroa Station in the Ruakituri Valley Northern Hawke's Bay and Ruakaka Station in Tiniroto Gisborne, though in different districts the properties boundary each other.


Paua Station Profile

2015 Finalist

Paua Station is located about 80 km north of Kaitaia and 40 km south of the top of New Zealand, Cape Reinga. The Parengarenga rohe spans across the top of New Zealand from the Pacific Ocean in the East to the Tasman Sea in the West.


Maranga Station Profile

2015 Finalist

Maranga Station is a typical East Coast hill country sheep and beef property and lies about 30 kilometres south west of Gisborne. For the owners of Maranga Station it is the culmination of a challenging journey, hard work and sacrifice to create an economic property.


Ahuwhenua Trophy Finalists Announced

Press Release by New Zealand Government at 8:32AM, 27 Mar 2015

Primary Industries Minister Nathan Guy has congratulated the three finalists in this year's Ahuwhenua Trophy competition, celebrating excellence in Māori farming.


Finalists for Ahuwhenua Trophy Announced

2015 Finalists

The three finalists for the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for sheep and beef were announced tonight at a function in parliament by the Minister for Primary Industries, Hon Nathan Guy. Two of the farms are in the East Coast region of the North Island and the other from the Far North.


Ahuwhenua Trophy Judges announced

The judges for the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for sheep and beef have been announced.


Entries called for Ahuwhenua Trophy

The quest to find the top Māori sheep and beef farm for the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award is now on. The Chief Executive of Te Puni Kōkiri, Michelle Hippolite officially launched the awards at the annual conference of the Federation of Māori Authorities in Whanganui at the weekend.


2015 Entry 2015 Entry 2015 Entry

Left: Michelle Hippolite;
Middle: Cedric Nepia at the Ahuwhenua stand with an entry form;
Right: The Ahuwhenua Trophy

Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer competition developing future sheep and beef leaders

2015 Entry

Entries to the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer of the Year Award 2015 are now open following the announcement made by Ahuwhenua Trophy Competition Trustee and Chief Executive of Te Puni Kokiri, Michelle Hippolite at the Federation of Māori Authorities annual conference in Whanganui on Saturday. The Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Award is about celebrating leadership qualities and inspiring young Māori into careers linked to growing the Māori asset base.